Golf Course Open

Saturday 3rd September saw Hennerton's premier fundraising event of the year with the Captains' Charity Day. Despite gloomy forecasts for weather, it remained mainly dry until mid-afternoon, meaning only a limited number of players enjoyed an early bath.

Days like this are always fun, but very competitive and this was no exception. The best 2 stableford scores in each team counted on each hole and this lead to some very high scoring. The winning team won with 97 points (on count back) comprised of T Harding, R Harding, I Forrest and I Pollock, who all received a splendid new Golf Bag. Beaten into 2nd place by the narrowest of margins were T Fiddy, B Lewington, S Cole and C Whyatt who all got new golf shoes. In 3rd place with a very respectable 96 points were M Green, M Cook, M Wright and W Coulson who won Titleist ruck sacks.

For the Ladies, the Longest Drive went to G Ormsby while the Nearest to the Pin went to E Holmes.

For the Men, the Longest drive went to a surprised M Hinson while the Nearest to the Pin went to M Potter.

The event was extremely well supported by local business’ who not only sponsored all the holes on our course but donated some wonderful prizes for our Raffle and Silent Auction. Combined these raised more than £2,000. THANK YOU!

A special mention should also go to our main sponsor MCH Vehicle Rental who once again supported us by providing the insurance/car for our “Hole in One” competition, which unfortunately has to remain unclaimed for yet another year!

Mike Bridge acted as our Starter for the day, while the Junior section provided the necessary personnel for the putting, cake stall and ball spotting. A big thank you to all of these and the backroom team that helped to make this event such a success.

In previous weeks I have stressed that Hennerton is a Community Golf Club – not separate but part of our local area. The support provided by both members and companies has been magnificent and a real tonic.

Best wishes,

Don Skelton and Nuala Priest

Men’s and Ladies' Captains 2016/17